Medal of Honor

Medal of Honor
  • WHO – Cryptic Mason
  • WHEN – Triennial Assembly
  • WHY – Outstanding Service
  • AUTHORIZATION – Elected General Grand Officers

The highest award given to a Cryptic Mason, “a Brother and Companion who is revered by Masons throughout the world and one who has devoted his life to the improvement of Masonry.” The Medal of Honor was approved and the first one given at the 33rd Triennial in 1978.

One is given at every Triennial Assembly to one awardee, the decision being made by the elective officers of the General Grand Council based upon recommendations from the Craft. The optimal candidate will have provided service to Masonry and who is well known in the Arts, Science, Business, Religion or Government.